aliensoul_squire20
01-24-2004, 06:18 PM
Howdy. (no i am not from texas) I'm new to Mars Hill, I'm a resident of Music Buzz. Anywho, this topic is to give your favorite bible verse(s), give the reference and what it says, and talk about why it's your favorite.

My favorite Bible verse is Joshua 1:9 (NIV)- "Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous. Do not be terrified; do not be discouraged, for the Lord you God will be with you wherever you go."

I like this verse because, when I repeat it in my mind, it gives me the strength to go through with tough things and to assure me that God is with me to protect me. A way that can remind me easier is the necklace I got at a Christian book store with a pewter shield with this verse on the back (but i lost it :'(). I wrote a song called Worldwide Battle, about how we're all in the war between God and the devil. It's pretty much saying that we have to stop building up defenses and sitting around and get up, be offensive, and go to the battle. It also says that your Bible is your sword and your faith is your armor.

Speaking of the Bible being your sword, I also like Ephesians 6:17- Take the helmet of salvation and the sword of the Spirit, which is the word of God.

bu-bye!

weebird20
01-25-2004, 03:55 AM
hmmmmmm.......favorite Bible verses.......its soooo hard to choose just one.........

I've always liked:

1 Corinthians 13 v4-7
Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres.

It's just one of those verses that just reading it puts a smile on your face :)

Proverbs 16 v3
Commit to the Lord whatever you do, and your plans will succeed.

Something that always encourages me when im a little worried about things.

Galatians 6 v9