Superfly
05-03-2006, 08:02 PM
I'm not that good at putting my thoughts into words, but I'll do my best:

I just found out tonight that my girlfriend (who I was hoping to spend the rest of my life with) has cheated on me and slept with someone she works with. I know that I am supposed to forgive, which I have done, but what do I do now? Should I move on and try to build another relationship, or should I try to repair this one. We have been dating for 2 1/2 years and known each other for a year longer and I was hoping to take our relationship to the next level very soon, but now I'm not so sure. I have already forgiven both people, but I don't know wheter I should take my girlfriend back or move on. Does anyone have any Scriptural input?

In Christ,
Braden

aliengurl7
05-03-2006, 08:19 PM
Once a cheater always a cheater. This is why I say that I know someone who had a adulterous husband. She caught him once he said he was sorry but he ended up doing it again and now their divorce. I suggest you take some time to think about this, is it worth repairing? I think you should dump her but its up to you.

terrasin
05-03-2006, 11:38 PM
Quite personally, that would be a hard decision. A great deal of trust has been lost and it would take quite a long time to build that back up again. Second, if this girl is sleeping with someone, chances are it's not a relationship that would be healthy for you. This is one of those things I see as "forgive but not forget" situations. You can forgive someone for their actions against you, but you are under no obligation to remain in a relationship, friends, or even speak with the person if that would be what you choose.

I guess what it comes down to what it's worth to you. Obviously she didn't have the same intentions as you to spend her life with you.

CJ

skynes
05-04-2006, 12:45 AM
In the book of Hosea, God commanded Hosea to marry a prostitute. It represented God's love for Israel.