timmyrotter
04-27-2007, 04:07 PM
this is something that has peaked my interest lately. what do you guys know about it? i dont know the first thing about so anything will help. do companies like Scottrade.com charge a portion for trading through them? can you buy stock directly through a company? is online trading the best way to go?

terrasin
04-27-2007, 08:33 PM
I'm still learning about buying stocks since I'm considering my choices for some very serious financial investing in the near future. Yahoo Finance has a great portfolio system on their site you can use, plus all the up to date information on http://finance.yahoo.com/. It really depends what kind of market you're looking at investing in.

CJ

Tromos
04-28-2007, 04:50 PM
*shrug*

It's mostly a scam. I suppose you could learn that basic of playing in the market in any college-level macro economic course. But you're not really going to make much money unless you have the money to invest. What's the point of buying 20 shares at $2.00 a share when the trade is gonna cost you $20 to make? Plus most of the online groups require you to keep a minimum balance. And you only get the low price per trade deals if you make a minimum number of trades a month - all initially at a higher cost.

In the end, like most things about the market, only those with large amounts of money to invest tend to reap meaningful rewards.

Personally, I think you're better off with a Roth IRA or a solid set of well-performing mutual funds through your trusted bank.

terrasin
04-28-2007, 09:35 PM
Yes because people who invested in Google and Microsoft didn't make much money. :P I still curse myself for not investing in Google when I had the chance.