DarkestRose
05-12-2007, 11:47 PM
This is a problem that has been bugging me lately. I have a guy friend that I’ve known since one of my classes from my high school senior year. We talked a lot in that class and became casual school acquaintances. Quite a few people at the school seemed to pick on him, so I always tried to be nice because he’s my friend and because I didn’t want him to feel alone at school. We fell out of contact for awhile because he started home schooling and I graduated from high school, but lately we’ve been picking our friendship back up.

What’s bugging me is that he has interpreted my friendliness as flirting, which was not what I meant at all. I told him I wasn’t flirting but I feel like I was weak in making that point because I didn’t want to hurt his feelings. But now he wants to date me and I don’t want to date him. I don’t like him like that at all and I feel sort of insulted that he wants to completely skip over the friendship stage of our relationship to “dating.” And I’ve told him that I do not date, that I’m not into the idea of boyfriends, so it’s not like my standards weren’t clear. I also feel upset that, in knowing this, he went ahead anyway to say that he liked me, which really just makes our relationship more awkward.